(DIY)Old Skirt becomes new Shirt

GetAttachment (5)

Saturday I was looking for a project to do, and so like most women I raided my closet for something I could refashion. I found this beautiful floral skirt you have seen in previous post and decided that I wanted to make it into a cute shirt for summer weather ( whatever that means in Florida) I  am going to show you how I changed my skirt into a shirt (it is so easy, seriously) I will also list prices of the things I used in this project.

Start with the skirt of your choice
Start with the skirt of your choice
Next mark where you want your arms to go 9 cut out sleeves)
Next mark the place where you want your arms to go ( cut out sleeves)
CUT SLEEVES ( be careful to make sure all sides are even)
CUT SLEEVES ( be careful to make sure all sides are even)
This is what the shirt looks like on me, without a hem and with me taking in the sides
This is what the shirt looks like on me, without a hem and with me taking in the sides (Sorry it’s sideways)
This is a really bad picture, but the next step is to take in the sides of the skirt/dress and to hem the sleeve! I forgot to take pictures of that part (:
This is a really bad picture, but the next step is to take in the sides of the skirt/dress and to hem the sleeve! I forgot to take pictures of that part (:
Viola! You have made yourself a shirt ! I paired mine with a nice jean jacket, some Old Navy black skinny jeans and a pair of  brown flats from Target
Viola! You have made yourself a shirt ! I paired mine with a nice jean jacket, some Old Navy black skinny jeans and a pair of brown flats from Target

Prices

Heming tape (Walmart) -2.97

Thread (To take in the sides, Walmart) 1.97

That is honestly the only money I spent on this project! So much better than trying to but  8 or even 12 dollar shirt from Old Navy! Definitely loved how this turned out and will be doing this again!

Leave a Reply

